Gay rights, Section 377: A timeline of LGBT law in India – will it be legalised?

The Supreme Court of India today began hearing a bunch of pleas regaridng Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code which criminalises homosexuality or same-sex marriage in India. Of late, the issue has become a matter of debate in India, with one side equating it with culture and tradition and the other with someones personal right of privacy. The matter, on which a host of pleas have been filed, will be heard by a five-judge bench comprising Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra and Justices R F Nariman, A M Khanwilkar, D Y Chandrachud and Indu Malhotra. Section 377: LGBT rights The court held section 377 as ultra wires with Article 14, 15 and 21 of the Constitution of India. December 2012: Supreme Court quashes High Court order The Supreme Court of India quashed the order issued by Delhi High Court. The apex court held that the order is legally unsustainable. A two-judge bench of Justice G S Singhvi and Justice S J Mukhopadhaya said that a The court left a scope of striking down the law and categorically said that the Centre is free to amend it. In 2014, Naz foundation filed a review petition which was quashed by the SC. Centres stand on the law Central government led by PM Narendra Modi said that it would take a decision regarding the law. In 2015, the BJP dominated Lok Sabha voted against the introduction of a private member The Bill had been proposed by Congress MP Shashi Tharoor. Supreme Court reconsiders petitions regarding the law A group of well known LGBT rights activists, S Johar, journalist Sunil Mehra, chef Ritu Dalmia, hotelier Aman Nath and business executive Ayesha Kapur. The petition, filed by well-known LGBTQ activists, claimed their It also observed that It said that the The judgment, which implicitly overrules its 2013 verdict, is likely to bear on this review. July 10, 2018: SC begins hearing on Section 377 A five-judge Constitution bench led by Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra and comprising Justices R F Nariman, A M Khanwilkar, D Y Chandrachud and Indu Malhotra, begins hearing petitions challenging Section 377.


邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注